Alaska Alaska

Below is a general overview of when juvenile records can be sealed in Alaska. Please note that the Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not provide legal advice. Read the legal policies and statutes for detailed statutory information. Juvenile Record Clearance Policies Overview

  • Most juvenile records are sealed within 30 days of you turning 18. This is done automatically; you do not have to do anything to get your record sealed.
  • If you received a dual sentence, you may be able to get your record sealed five years after you were sentenced. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and it is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
  • Traffic offenses are not eligible for sealing.
Find a Lawyer If you think you might be eligible to have your record sealed, find a lawyer who may be able to help you. Some lawyers might help you for free, although you may still need to pay a fee to file the paperwork in court. Court Forms and Resources If you cannot find a lawyer to help you, you may be able to file a petition on your own using these court forms and resources.

Explore legal service providers located in the state by proximity to a zip code or county.

Contact information for legal aid organizations, bar associations, and other organizations that engage in record clearance work is provided for informational purposes only. The Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not endorse or recommend any organization or individual referenced on the site. If you are a legal service provider who offers record clearance services, please contact us.

Records relating to cases in which a juvenile was tried as an adult or the juvenile record was made public can be sealed by the court five years after disposition or sentence completion. Alaska Stat. § 47.12.300(f).

View Details

Records relating to a case dismissed following successful completion of probation pursuant to a suspended entry of judgment cannot be published on a publicly available website 60 days after the date of dismissal. Alaska Stat. §§ 12.55.078, 22.35.030.

View Details

Records relating to an arrest or conviction that, beyond a reasonable doubt, resulted from mistaken identity or false accusation can be sealed by the criminal justice agency responsible for maintaining the record. Alaska Stat. § 12.62.180.

View Details

Records relating to a charge that results in acquittal or dismissal cannot be published on a publicly available website 60 days after the date of acquittal or dismissal. Alaska Stat. § 22.35.030.

View Details

A record relating to a juvenile adjudication shall be sealed automatically. Alaska Stat. § 47.12.300(d).

View Details

A record relating to charges that were made public because the person received a dual sentence can be sealed, so long as the court finds that its order has had the intended rehabilitative effect and further finds that the person has fulfilled all orders entered under section 47.12.120. Alaska Stat. § 47.12.300(f).

View Details
(non-prod server)