Connecticut Connecticut

Below is a general overview of when juvenile records can be erased in Connecticut. Please note that the Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not provide legal advice. Read the legal policies and statutes for detailed statutory information.   Juvenile Record Clearance Policies Overview Most juvenile records can be erased.  

  • Non-serious juvenile charges can be erased after you turn 18 and at least two years have passed since your discharge. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • Serious juvenile charges can be erased after you turn 18 and at least four years have passed since your discharge. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • If you can show the court you have a good reason to have your record erased, you can submit a request to the court to erase your record before the two- or four-year waiting period is over. It is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
 
  • Certain records can be erased at any time if you were a victim of human trafficking. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and it is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
  If you have certain convictions or adjudications on your record, you may not be eligible to have your record erased.   Find a Lawyer If you think you might be eligible to have your record erased, find a lawyer who may be able to help you. Some lawyers might help you for free, although you may still need to pay a fee to file the paperwork in court.   Court Forms and Resources If you cannot find a lawyer to help you, you may be able to file a petition on your own using these court forms and resources.

Explore legal service providers located in the state by proximity to a zip code or county.

Contact information for legal aid organizations, bar associations, and other organizations that engage in record clearance work is provided for informational purposes only. The Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not endorse or recommend any organization or individual referenced on the site. If you are a legal service provider who offers record clearance services, please contact us.

Records relating to an offense that has since been decriminalized can be ordered destroyed by a court at any time. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-142d.

View Details

Records relating to a conviction for prostitution pursuant to section 53a-82 that occurred as a result of the petitioner having been a victim of human trafficking can be vacated by the court. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-95c.

View Details

Records relating to an offense for which an absolute pardon has been granted are erased. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-142a(d)(2).

View Details

Records relating to offenses dismissed after the completion of certain deferred adjudication programs are erased upon dismissal. Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 54-56e, 46-38c(h), 29-33(h), 54-142a.

View Details

Records relating to a finding of not guilty or a dismissal of charges are returned by the State Police Bureau of Identification, copies are destroyed, and electronic images are deleted, so long as the person has no prior criminal convictions. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-15(a).

View Details

Records relating to a case for which a nolle prosequi was entered are returned by the State Bureau of Identification within 60 days after 13 months, so long as the person has no prior criminal convictions. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-15(a)(1).  

View Details

Police, court, and state attorney records relating to a finding of not guilty or a dismissal are erased upon affirmance after appeal or when the time to appeal has expired. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-142a(a)(b).

View Details

Police, court, and state's attorney records relating to a case for which a nolle prosequi was entered are erased within 13 months. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-142a(c).

View Details

Records relating to a person whose case was dismissed as not delinquent will be erased immediately without the filing of a petition. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-146.

View Details

Records relating to an adjudication for a nonserious juvenile offense will be erased upon petition so long as the person is at least 18 years of age, at least two years have elapsed from the date of discharge, and the person is not subject to a disqualifying event. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-146.

View Details

Records relating to an adjudication for a serious juvenile offense will be erased upon petition so long as the person is at least 18 years of age, at least four years have elapsed from the date of discharge, and the person is not subject to a disqualifying event. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-146.

View Details

Records relating to a delinquency matter can be erased by the court upon a showing of good cause. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-146.

View Details

Records relating to a child who has a criminal record as a result of being a victim of human trafficking will be erased upon petition. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46b-146.

View Details
(non-prod server)