North Carolina North Carolina

Below is a general overview of when juvenile records can be expunged in North Carolina. Please note that the Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not provide legal advice. Read the legal policies and statutes for detailed statutory information.   Juvenile Record Clearance Policies Overview Most juvenile records can be expunged.  

  • If you were not adjudicated (not found guilty), your record can be expunged after you turn 16 . You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • If you were adjudicated (found guilty), your record can be expunged after you turn 18 and if at least 18 months have passed since your case, probation, or commitment ended. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and it is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
  You may not be eligible for expungement if you have certain convictions or adjudications on your record.   Find a Lawyer If you think you might be eligible to have your record expunged, find a lawyer who may be able to help you. Some lawyers might help you for free, although you may still need to pay a fee to file the paperwork in court.   Court Forms and Resources If you cannot find a lawyer to help you, you may be able to file a petition on your own using these court forms and resources.

Explore legal service providers located in the state by proximity to a zip code or county.

Contact information for legal aid organizations, bar associations, and other organizations that engage in record clearance work is provided for informational purposes only. The Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not endorse or recommend any organization or individual referenced on the site. If you are a legal service provider who offers record clearance services, please contact us.

Records relating to a non-violent felony conviction, or more than one conviction in the same session of court, can be expunged 10 years after sentence completion, so long as the person has no other felony or misdemeanor convictions other than a traffic violation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.5.

View Details

Records relating to misdemeanor offenses committed before age 18 can be expunged by the court two years after a conviction or completion of any period of probation, whichever occurs later, so long as the petitioner has no other felony or misdemeanor conviction, other than a traffic violation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145(a).

View Details

Records relating to a non-violent misdemeanor conviction, or more than one conviction in the same session of court, can be expunged five years after sentence completion, so long as the person has no other felony or misdemeanor convictions other than a traffic violation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.5.

View Details

Records relating to a conviction for prostitution pursuant to sections 14-204 or 14-204(7) can be expunged by the court if the petitioner's participation in the offense was a result of having been a trafficking victim, so long as the petitioner has no prior violent felony or violent misdemeanor convictions and no subsequent felony or misdemeanor convictions. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.6(b)(2)(a).

View Details

Records relating to a conviction for prostitution can be expunged by the court three years after sentence completion, so long as the petition has no prior violent convictions, no prior prostitution convictions, and no subsequent felony or misdemeanor convictions. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.6(b)(2)(b).

View Details

Records relating to a first conviction for an alcohol possession misdemeanor committed before age 21 may be expunged by the court two years after sentence completion, so long as the person has no other felony or misdemeanor conviction other than a traffic violation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.

View Details

Records relating to certain first offense misdemeanor and felony controlled substance offenses committed when the person was not over 21 can be expunged by the court one year after conviction, so long as the person has no prior felony or controlled substance convictions. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.2(c).

View Details

Records relating to a first toxic vapors misdemeanor conviction or a first possession of drug paraphernalia conviction committed before age 21 may be expunged one year after conviction, so long as the person has no other felony or misdemeanor conviction other than a traffic violation and has completed a drug education program. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.3(c).

View Details

Records relating to a conviction for which a pardon of innocence is received can be expunged by the court. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-149(a).

View Details

Records relating to a conviction for prostitution pursuant to section 15A-1415(b)(10) can be vacated by the court if the conviction was a result of the petitioner having been a victim of human trafficking or sexual servitude. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-1416.1(a).

View Details

Records relating to certain gang-related felonies committed before age 18 can be expunged by the court two years after conviction or upon completion of probation, so long as the person has no other felony or misdemeanor conviction, other than a traffic violation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-145.1(a).

View Details

Records relating to a first controlled substance or toxic vapors offense dismissed following successful completion of a conditional discharge may be expunged by the court if the person was not over 21 at the time of the offense. N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 15A-145.2(a), 15A-145.3.

View Details

Records relating to felonies or misdemeanors can be expunged by the court upon dismissal or a finding of not guilty or not responsible, so long as the person has no prior felony conviction. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-146.

View Details

Records relating to a felony or misdemeanor containing the name of an identity theft victim or a person mistakenly identified as the perpetrator of a crime can be expunged by the court upon a finding of not guilty or a set-aside of the conviction. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-147(a).

View Details

Records relating to a felony or misdemeanor containing the name of an identity theft victim or a person mistakenly identified as the perpetrator of a crime are expunged upon dismissal. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 15A-147(a1).

View Details

Records relating to certain controlled substance and paraphernalia charges, for a person not over the age of 21 at the time of the offense, can be expunged upon dismissal, nolle prosequi, or finding of not guilty or adjudication of innocence. N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 15A-145.2(b), 15A-145.3(b).

View Details

Records relating to a juvenile petition that the court dismissed without an adjudication can be expunged by the court once the juvenile reaches age 16. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 7B-3200(h).  

View Details

A record relating to an adjudication can be expunged by the court once the juvenile reaches age 18, if at least 18 months have elapsed since the person was released from juvenile court jurisdiction. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 7B-3200(b).

View Details
(non-prod server)