North Dakota North Dakota

Below is a general overview of when juvenile records can be destroyed in North Dakota. Please note that the Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not provide legal advice.

Read the legal policies and statutes for detailed statutory information.

Juvenile Record Clearance Policies Overview

  • Most juvenile records can be destroyed at any time. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and it is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
  • All juvenile records should be automatically destroyed 10 years after your case, probation, or commitment ends. You don’t have to do anything to get the record destroyed.

You may not be eligible for destruction if you have certain convictions or adjudications on your record or have pending criminal or juvenile charges.

Find a Lawyer

If you think you might be eligible to have your record destroyed, find a lawyer who may be able to help you. Some lawyers might help you for free, although you may still need to pay a fee to file the paperwork in court.

Court Forms and Resources

If you cannot find a lawyer to help you, you may be able to file a petition on your own using these court forms and resources.

Explore legal service providers located in the state by proximity to a zip code or county.

Contact information for legal aid organizations, bar associations, and other organizations that engage in record clearance work is provided for informational purposes only. The Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not endorse or recommend any organization or individual referenced on the site. If you are a legal service provider who offers record clearance services, please contact us.

Records relating to a prostitution conviction or an offense listed in section 12.1-41-12(1) which was committed as a direct resulting of being a victim of human trafficking can be sealed by the court. N.D. Cent. Code § 12.1-41-14.

View Details

Records relating to a first marijuana misdemeanor will be sealed by the court after two years, so long as the person is not convicted of a controlled substance offense in that time. N.D. Cent. Code, § 19-03.1-23(10).

View Details

Records relating to a misdemeanor conviction can be sealed by the court after three years. N.D. Cent. Code § 12-60.1-02(1)(a).

View Details

Records relating to a felony conviction can be sealed by the court after five years. N.D. Cent. Code § 12-60.1-02(1)(b).

View Details

Records relating to a misdemeanor case dismissed after successful completion of a drug court program are sealed by the court immediately. N.D. Cent. Code §§ 19-03.1-23(11), 39-08-01.5(3).

View Details

Records relating to a DWI case dismissed after successful completion of probation are sealed by the court immediately. N.D. Cent. Code § 39-08-01.6.

View Details

A record relating to a delinquency proceeding can be destroyed at any time if the court finds good cause. N.D.R.Juv.P. 19.

View Details

A record relating to a delinquency adjudication must be destroyed 10 years after the expiration of the final order or from when the person turns 18, whichever is later. N.D. Sup. Ct. Admin. R. 19, Courts Records Retention Schedule.

View Details
(non-prod server)