Oregon Oregon

Below is a general overview of when juvenile records can be expunged in Oregon. Please note that the Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not provide legal advice. Read the legal policies and statutes for detailed statutory information.  Juvenile Record Clearance Policies Overview Most juvenile records can be expunged.  

  • If you were not charged or your case was dismissed, your record can be expunged after you turn 18. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • If you were adjudicated (found guilty), your record can be expunged five years after your case, probation, or commitment ends. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • Prostitution offenses can be expunged at any time. You have to submit a request to the court to start the process, and the judge is required to grant your request if you meet the criteria.
 
  • You can also submit a request to the court to expunge your juvenile record at any time, even if you do not meet the criteria. It is up to the judge whether or not to grant your request.
  You may not be eligible for expungement if you have certain convictions or adjudications on your record or have pending criminal or juvenile charges.   Find a Lawyer If you think you might be eligible to have your record expunged, find a lawyer who may be able to help you. Some lawyers might help you for free, although you may still need to pay a fee to file the paperwork in court.   Court Forms and Resources If you cannot find a lawyer to help you, you may be able to file a petition on your own using these court forms and resources.

Explore legal service providers located in the state by proximity to a zip code or county.

Contact information for legal aid organizations, bar associations, and other organizations that engage in record clearance work is provided for informational purposes only. The Clean Slate Clearinghouse does not endorse or recommend any organization or individual referenced on the site. If you are a legal service provider who offers record clearance services, please contact us.

Records relating to misdemeanors, most C felonies, some controlled substance possession offenses, and violations under state law or local ordinance can be set aside and sealed by the court three years after judgment, so long as the sentence is complete and petitioner has had no convictions in the past 10 years. Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.225(1)(a), (5)(b)-(e), (7).

View Details

Records of some Class B felony convictions can be set aside and sealed 20 years after conviction or release from imprisonment, so long as the person has no subsequent arrests or convictions, excluding motor vehicle violations. Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.225(1)(a), (5)(a).

View Details

Records of some convictions involving marijuana can be set aside if the defendant was under 21 and has no other convictions, excluding motor vehicle violations. Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.226.

View Details

Records relating to an offense for which the governor grants a pardon on or after June 13, 2019 are sealed by the court immediately. Or. Rev. Stat. § ___, added by Senate Bill 388 of 2019.

View Details

Records relating to an offense for which the governor granted a pardon before June 13, 2019 can be sealed by the court immediately. Or. Rev. Stat. § ___, added by Senate Bill 388 of 2019.

View Details

Records of arrest can be set aside and sealed if no charges are filed within one year, so long as the person has no arrests in the preceding three years excluding motor vehicle violations, and no convictions in the past 10 years, excluding minor vehicle violations. A single violation, other than a motor vehicle violation, within the last 10 years is not a conviction. Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.225(1)(b), (7), (8).

View Details

Records of arrest can be set aside and sealed at any time after the dismissal of the charge or acquittal, so long as the person has no arrests in the preceding three years excluding motor vehicle violations, and no convictions in the past 10 years, excluding motor vehicle violations. A single violation, other than a motor vehicle violation, within the last 10 years is not a conviction. Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 137.225(1)(b), (7), (8).

View Details

Records of a case in which a person is found guilty except for insanity on charges that could be set aside under Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.225 can be aside and sealed, so long as the person has no other findings of guilty except for insanity or convictions, other than motor vehicle violations, within 10 years before petitioning. Or. Rev. Stat. § 137.223.

View Details

Records relating to a juvenile matter will be expunged upon petition by the court so long as at least five years have elapsed since the date of the person's most recent termination. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(2).

View Details

Records relating to a charge, allegation, or adjudication for prostitution will be expunged if the person was under 18 years of age at the time of the incident. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(3).

View Details

Records related to charges brought under the jurisdiction of the court will be expunged upon petition after the person reaches 18 years of age and at least five years have elapsed since the date of the person's most recent termination. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(5)(b).

View Details

Records relating to juvenile delinquency matters can be expunged upon petition, if the court finds that to do so would be in the best interests of the person and the public. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(8).

View Details

A record relating to a juvenile adjudication for an act that would constitute rape in the third degree, sodomy in the third degree, or sexual abuse in the third degree, or an attempt to commit those crimes can be expunged upon petition, so long as five years have elapsed and the person is not subject to a disqualifying event. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(9)(a).

View Details

A record relating to a juvenile adjudication for a Class C felony sex crime can be expunged upon petition, so long as five years have elapsed, the person was under 16 years old at the time of the offense, and the person is not subject to a disqualifying event. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(9)(b).

View Details

Records relating to charges that were dismissed will be expunged upon petition when the person reaches 18 years of age. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(5)(a).

View Details

Records relating to an arrest will be expunged upon petition when the person reaches 18 years of age. Or. Rev. Stat. § 419A.262(5)(a).

View Details
(non-prod server)